ether.fi Cash 3% Cashback in ETHFI: What You Actually Keep After FX and Token Risk (2026)
TL;DR — ether.fi Cash pays 3% cashback on the free Core tier, which is the highest no-fee rate among mainstream stablecoin cards. Two details decide whether that number survives contact with reality: the 3% applies only to the first $2,000 of monthly spend before stepping down to 1% and then 0.5%, and the cashback is paid in ETHFI tokens rather than dollars. The official FX schedule is also not a flat 1% — it is a ~1% base rate plus a tier margin of up to 0.5% on Core.
Quick answer: the card is genuinely competitive if you spend under $2,000 a month and claim and convert your ETHFI promptly. If you hold the tokens, your cashback becomes a directional bet on a single asset — a 50% drawdown turns a $60 monthly rebate into $30 before FX is even counted.
What This Guide Covers
- How long does the 3% rate actually last?
- What is cashback in ETHFI really worth?
- Is the FX fee really 1%?
- What does non-custodial change for you?
- FAQ
Paying cashback in a token rather than a stablecoin is what separates this card from most of the category — the payout formats are compared side by side on Fat Cat Card’s ether.fi page.
How Long Does the 3% Rate Actually Last?

ether.fi’s cashback is a stepped schedule, not a flat rate. Checked against the official help centre on September 20, 2026:
| Tier | Annual cost | 3% applies to | Above that |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core | $0 | First $2,000 (or €800) per month | 1% on the next $1,000, then 0.5% |
| Luxe | $199 / year | First $10,000 (or €3,000) | 0.5% above $20,000 |
| Pinnacle | By invitation | First $50,000 (or €16,000) | 0.5% above $80,000 |
| Business | — | Flat 1% on all spend | Same |
EUR transactions earn reduced rates (3%, 1%, then 0.1%) in exchange for zero FX on euro spend.
Because the rate steps down instead of stopping, the headline number dilutes as volume grows. Spend $5,000 in a month on Core and you earn 3% on the first $2,000 ($60), 1% on the next $1,000 ($10) and 0.5% on the remaining $2,000 ($10) — $80 total, an effective 1.6%. The advertised 3% and your realised rate diverge in direct proportion to how much you use the card.
Luxe has four published qualification routes besides paying $199: earning 5,000 membership points in a month, keeping $15,000 in Liquid, or holding 30,000 staked ETHFI. The deposit and staking routes are worth reading carefully — they replace an annual fee with capital that is tied up in a specific protocol and a specific token.
What Is Cashback in ETHFI Really Worth?
This is the variable that no comparison table captures. The help centre is explicit: cashback is earned in ETHFI, and a minimum of $5 is required to claim. You are not receiving dollars or stablecoins — you are receiving a governance token whose price moves between the moment you earn it and the moment you convert it.
Take a $2,000 month on Core, earning the full 3% ($60), with FX at 1.25% on the same spend ($25). Here is how the outcome shifts with the token price:
| Cashback at accrual | ETHFI price change before conversion | Value realised | Net of $25 FX |
|---|---|---|---|
| $60 | +30% | $78 | +$53 |
| $60 | unchanged | $60 | +$35 |
| $60 | −30% | $42 | +$17 |
| $60 | −50% | $30 | +$5 |
| $60 | −70% | $18 | −$7 |
Illustrative calculation using published rates. Actual results depend on claim timing, conversion timing, gas costs and the exchange rate applied at authorization.
The practical takeaway is an operating rule rather than a price forecast: claim and convert on a fixed cadence. Holding the token is a separate investment decision that happens to be funded by your grocery bill, and conflating the two is how a “3% cashback card” quietly becomes a leveraged position in a mid-cap altcoin. The $5 claim minimum means very light spenders will carry exposure for longer before they can act.
Is the FX Fee Really 1%?
Most comparison sites list ether.fi’s FX at a flat 1%. The official limits-and-fees article for personal Cash credit cards describes something slightly different: the prevailing FX base rate of approximately 1%, plus an added margin that varies by tier.
| Tier | Added FX margin | Effective FX (incl. ~1% base) |
|---|---|---|
| Core | 0 – 0.5% | ~1.0% – 1.5% |
| Luxe | 0 – 0.25% | ~1.0% – 1.25% |
| Pinnacle | None | ~1.0% |
| VIP | None | ~1.0% |
On the same page, ATM access is set at $1,000 per transaction with a maximum of five withdrawals in any rolling 24-hour period, for $5,000 total. That is materially more generous than KAST’s $250-per-withdrawal, $750-per-day ceiling. The ATM fee percentage itself is not stated in that article, so confirm it in-app before relying on the card for cash.
One more line from the same documentation worth knowing before you dispute anything: refund FX rates can differ from the original transaction rate because of intermediary bank fees, network adjustments or timing. A returned purchase will not always credit back the exact amount that was debited.
What Does Non-Custodial Change for You?
ether.fi Cash spends from assets you hold rather than from a balance the company controls. That changes the risk profile in both directions.
- In your favour: the provider cannot freeze, seize or unilaterally move your funds, because it never holds them. Exchange-style account freezes — the scenario we covered in our Revolut account freeze guide — have no equivalent here.
- Against you: lose your keys or passkey and no support desk can restore access. Self-custody hygiene is entirely your responsibility.
- At top-up time: deposits are onchain. Sending the right token on the wrong chain is unrecoverable. Always send a minimum test amount first, confirm arrival, then move the rest.
For a side-by-side of current stablecoin card fees and payout formats, we maintain a comparison site at Fat Cat Card’s ether.fi page, with the verification date on each figure. Disclosure: that site is ours and may contain referral links.
This article is informational and is not financial advice or a recommendation to buy any token or obtain any card. ETHFI and other crypto assets can lose value. It links to a comparison site operated by the author, which may earn a commission on sign-ups.
FAQ
Is ether.fi Cash cashback really 3%?
Only on the first $2,000 of monthly spend on the free Core tier. The next $1,000 earns 1% and anything above that earns 0.5%. A $5,000 month works out to roughly 1.6% overall.
Is ether.fi cashback paid in dollars or stablecoins?
Neither. Cashback is earned in ETHFI tokens, with a $5 minimum before you can claim. Converting to dollars requires claiming and then selling, so what you realise depends on the token price at that moment.
What is the real FX fee on ether.fi Cash?
The official documentation describes a base rate of approximately 1% plus a tier margin. On Core that margin is 0 to 0.5%, so the effective cost is roughly 1% to 1.5%.
What are the ATM limits on ether.fi Cash?
$1,000 per transaction, maximum five withdrawals in any rolling 24-hour period, $5,000 total. The fee percentage is not stated in the official limits article.
Do I have to pay $199 for the Luxe tier?
No. Luxe can also be reached by earning 5,000 membership points in a month, holding $15,000 in Liquid, or holding 30,000 staked ETHFI — routes that replace a fee with locked capital.
Related Reading
- Blackboard.fi Explained (2026): One Non-Custodial DEX Terminal
- Debit Card Declined Abroad? How to Fix It Fast (2026)
